Brooklyn Book Festival to Bring Out Literary Stars This Fall

Brooklyn Book Festival to Bring Out Literary Stars this Fall

By Seán Devlin

This fall, some of the best literary minds will gather in Downtown Brooklyn for the Brooklyn Book Festival, the largest free literary event in New York City, now in its 11th year.

Featured authors this year include Pulitzer Prize winning author Colson Whitehead, Joyce Carol Oates, National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson, MSNBC’s Chris Hayes, Meghan O’Rourke, Brooklyn chef Sohui Kim and Jonathan Lethem.

You can visit your independent bookstore at #BKBF! Hi @wordbookstores

The Sunday event will feature nearly 100 programs over 13 different stages at Brooklyn Borough Hall September 17. The programs include panel discussions with authors across a bevy of topics, which will be announced in August.

Attendees can also browse and shop for books at the Literary Marketplace, where more than 200 publishers and literary vendors will have booths and sell their wares.

#who #does #not #love #a #goodbook? #check #out #brooklynbookfestival #literacy #read #reading #usa #newyork #brooklyn #downtownbrooklyn #corcoran #realestate #livewhoyouare #linkinbio

The festival week kicks off September 11 with Bookend Events, a weeklong series of literary happenings taking place throughout the five boroughs in bookstores, parks, bars, ferries and other venues. The full schedule will be released in August. (Last year one such event was a panel with authors Edwidge Danticat, Jonathan Lethem and Pete Hamill.)

Children’s Day takes place Saturday, September 16 at MetroTech Commons. The celebration of childhood reading will feature bestselling author Alexandra Bracken, five-time Coretta Scott King award winner Sharon Draper, illustrators Maira Kalman and George O’Connor, 2017 Caldecott Medal winner Javaka Steptoe and National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature Gene Luen Yang, among others. It will also have an international children’s book showcase.

To learn more about the festival and the authors who will speak this year, click here.