Bobi Awards

The Best of Brooklyn (BoBi) award is presented each year to an author whose work best exemplifies or speaks to the spirit of Brooklyn. These celebrated authors write to educate and inspire their readers, incorporating themes that capture what makes Brooklyn unique.


Lynn Nottage

Lynn Nottage is a playwright, a screenwriter, and the first woman to win two Pulitzer Prizes for Drama. Her plays have been produced widely in the United States and throughout the world. Her plays include most recently Sweat, Floyd’s, Mlima's Tale, By the Way, Meet Vera Stark, Ruined, Intimate Apparel, Fabulation, and more. She has also developed This is Reading, a performance installation in Reading, Pennsylvania. Ms. Nottage has received a MacArthur "Genius Grant'' Fellowship, among other awards. Visit her website at, and follow her on Twitter @lynnbrooklyn.


Mo Williams

Mo Willems is the first picture book author to receive the annual BoBi award. He is the award-winning, number one New York Times best-selling author and illustrator of the beloved Pigeon, Knuffle Bunny, and Elephant & Piggie series.


N.K. Jemisin

N. K. Jemisin is most recently the author of The City We Became. She is the first author in history to win three consecutive Best Novel Hugo Awards, all for her Broken Earth trilogy. Her work has also won the Nebula, Locus, and Goodreads Choice Awards. She has been a reviewer for the New York Times Book Review and an instructor for the Clarion and Clarion West writing workshops. In her spare time she is a gamer and gardener, and she is also single-handedly responsible for saving the world from King Ozzymandias, her dangerously intelligent ginger cat, and his phenomenally destructive sidekick Magpie.


Colson Whitehead

Colson Whitehead is the author of nine books of fiction and non-fiction, including the Pulitzer Prize-winning novels The Underground Railroad and The Nickel Boys. Harlem Shuffle, his new novel, will be published in 2021.


Jacqueline Woodson


Jonathan Lethem


James McBride


Lois Lowry


Pete Hamill


Jhumpa Lahiri


John Ashbery


Edwidge Danticat


Walter Mosley


Paul Auster