Nate Powell

Nate Powell is the first graphic novelist ever to win the National Book Award. An Arkansas native, Powell began self-publishing in 1992 at age 14. His work includes Save It For Later as well as John Lewis’ historic March trilogy, Come Again, Two Dead, Any Empire, Swallow Me Whole, and The Silence of Our Friends.
Powell’s work has also received the Robert F. Kennedy Book Award, three Eisner Awards, two Ignatz Awards, four YALSA Great Graphic Novels For Teens selections, and is a two-time finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize.
He lives in Bloomington, Indiana.

Ben Rains

Photo by Ben Rains

Join Nate at the following events: